top of page

Review: It's Not OK to Feel Blue (And Other Lies)


I wish I had this book 10 years ago 🧡


I'll come right out and say it - I suffer from bouts of depression and generalized anxiety. I got the diagnosis almost 10 years ago. Back then I felt so alone, so misunderstood and so afraid of myself and my thoughts. Luckily, today, I have a good grasp on things and am able and more than willing to talk about my mental health. However, if someone had given me this book 10 years ago, I can safely say that my road to where I am today would have been a lot shorter and with fewer bends and twists.


"We roll our eyes to the ceiling

So surprised by the lack of desire

Inside of a human being

Like if he can't even communicate

How human is he being?"

- Jordan Stephens


🧡 WHAT I LOVED 🧡


Faces: Mental health takes on so many different faces, depression and anxiety are just a few of them. I loved how this book gathered so many different faces, so many different facets and aspects. Everyone will be able to find something to relate to in this book. My personal favourite, and the one I related to the most, was 'A Tale of Two Cities' by Jo Irwin.


Taboo: Many still find it hard to talk about mental health. If you admit you have a problem, you are likely to be met with a lack of understanding or empathy, because there are simply so many myths and misunderstandings about mental health. Many people, especially men, suffer from not feeling able to talk about these problems. But books like this takes away the taboo and makes the subject less dangerous.


Language: Another reason why this is so hard to talk about is because the words can be really hard to find when you're in the middle of it. Your emotions are in control, you're no longer driving the bus, and when people ask you to tell them how you're feeling, the words escape you. This book gives words to those who cannot find them themselves.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

bottom of page