top of page

Review: Not My Problem


Prepare to fall in love right off the bat 😍


"It started with Meabh Kowalska having a temper

tantrum in the girls’ changing room."


And with that opening line, I was hooked. I simply had to know the story - why was Maebh having a temper tantrum? And what subsequent story was born from it? The answers did not let me down!


🧡 What I Loved 🧡


Friendship: In the beginning, Aideen, our MC, only really has one friend - Holly. But as the story evolves, Aideen expands her group of friends and realises what real friendship is actually supposed to be. Friendship is about standing up for each other, having each others backs and sharing with each other. I liked that this focused both on toxic friendships (I've been in one until recently, and this was uncomfortably recognizable) and healthy relationships. I think it's an important message to get out - just because someone used to be your friend doesn't mean they'll always bee your friend. Sometimes friendships fall apart and that's okay. A friendship is more than just a word. Remember that.


Laugh-out-loud: There were so many instances of genuine laugh-out-loud moments. The characters each bring their own sense of humour to the table and I was particularly fond of Aideen's many, various diseases.


Characters: Aideen's paying-it-forward scheme gets her in touch with a wide variety of characters who are all amazing in each their own way. There are some, that appear more frequently and that play bigger roles than others, but they each serve a purpose and represent a distinct lesson for Aideen to learn. My favourite characters were definitely Kavi (that boy is FUN!), Aideen and Maebh. They were each so relatable in their own way. I even loved to hate Holly.


Aideen: I rooted for Aideen all the way through. I rooted for her to find her own voice. For her to finally trust someone. For her to let someone into her life. For her to stand up for herself and chose to make herself happy for once. Her arc throughout this story was inspirational, heartwarming and amazing.



bottom of page