top of page

Review: Under the Whispering Door


Moving and emotional paranormal fiction.


Sometimes a book just hits you square in the chest. This was one of those times.


🧡 What I Loved 🧡


Humor: Right off the bat I was laughing along with this book. There's so much quirky humor, so much banter between the characters. Some of it's silly. Some of it's profound. All of it is humorous, which is just what I liked.


Characters: This is primarily a character driven book. Which is okay, because the characters are strong enough and well enough developed to carry it perfectly. The characters are perfectly developed, each with their own specific personality. I really enjoyed how I was able to really feel these characters, identify with them and clearly see them. Especially Mei and Nelson, they were my favourites. And even though Wallace is not all that likable to begin with, I still found myself rooting for him. That's strong characterization.


Emotions: I always love a good book that can make me feel something. I got so invested in these characters, so invested in the story, that my emotions got evolved too. That is the best kind of book in my opinion.



bottom of page