top of page

Review: Boyfriend Material


The perfect feel good, LGBTQ rom-com you do not want to end, ever!


Oh my god, I am so in love with this book! The characters, the romance, the humor, all of it hit me straight in the heart. When I finished it I honestly said out loud, "I want more!"


"There should really be a word for the feeling you get when

you do a thing you don't particularly want to do to support somebody else

but then realise they didn't actually need you and nobody would have noticed

if you'd stayed home in you pyjamas eating Nutella straight from the jar."



💛 What I Loved 💛


Luc: Luc is a beautiful disaster when we first meet him. He's sloppy and all over the place. And while I really enjoyed that aspect of him, I really loved the way he evolved throughout the story. How he grew. He didn't change, he just became more honestly himself, I think. It felt very believable and well-constructed. It was honest and right. I was such a fan!


Oliver: Contrary to Luc, Oliver seemed perfect right from the start. Perhaps even a bit too perfect. But it was quickly revealed that he also had issues to deal with, and I loved getting those honest peaks beneath his surface. Oliver is a character I couldn't help but love. Perhaps because he reminded me of myself - always trying to be perfect for the sake of those around him, forgetting himself in the process. He felt very real.


Humor: I cannot tell you how many times I actually laughed out loud at this book. At one point I even had a laughing fit because of a scene in this book. I don't think that's ever happened to me. There were so many quotable moments, but I didn't write down most of them because I was too busy living this book. Also, I would have just copied 2/3rds of the book and that kind of defeats the purpose.


Characters: Aside from Luc and Oliver, there was a host of other completely amazing characters. Each of them were perfectly developed and had their own personal characteristics. Sure, some of them bothered me, but that just made it even better, because all people can't be 100% likable. I enjoyed every moment of these side characters.


Keep reading: Perhaps the greatest compliment I can give this book is that I didn't want it to be over. I wasn't ready to let these characters or this story go. If there's ever a sequel, you can bet I'm going to read it!


bottom of page