top of page

Review: Can't Take That Away


A book I am unlikely to forget anytime soon.


"Be the diva you wish to see in the world."



Carey sang their way into my heart right from the start. As someone who loves singing and who worships the Divas too, I was Carey's fan all the way through. But Carey isn't the only good thing about this book - it has a perfect balance of lightness and importance, great characters and a strong plot. It felt, in one word, perfect.


🧡 What I Loved 🧡


Emotions: This book took my emotions for a rollercoaster ride. I was all over the place. Fair warning - I cried A LOT. I cried from happiness. I cried from frustration. I cried from sadness. And I cried from how much I absolutely loved this book. Every. Dang. Moment.


Message: Carey is genderfluid. Sometimes Carey feels masculine, other times feminine. And sometimes Carey is somewhere in the middle. But one thing doesn't change. Carey loves to sing. But when Carey is cast in the school musical of Wicked in the role of Elphaba, suddenly their gender identity is a problem. I was angry and frustrated on Carey's behalf. I felt the injustice deep in my bones. And I loved how the book tackled this. I loved how Carey and their friends fought back. I loved how the entire school supported their fight for equality and acceptance. It was a beautiful message, written to perfection.


"She made me feel like I was in the wrong for being targeted."



Carey: I cannot stress how much I loved Carey. I loved their flair. I loved their insecurities. I loved their care for others. I loved their passions. I loved their strength. I loved their vulnerability. And I especially loved their growth throughout the story.


Mariah Carey: Carey's big idol is Mariah Carey. Maybe that's a no-brainer sine they're named after her. But Carey is not just a fan - Carey is a super-fan. Which means that they know A LOT of Mariah Carey factoids, which Carey uses to push themselves out of their comfort zone. Each factoid was amazing, funny and entertaining!



bottom of page