top of page

Review: Midnight Sun


Even though this was so bad, I loved hating every part of it! 😅😂


While this book was an absolute train wreck I actually still liked reading it. It was a dose of fun nostalgia. But if you take away the nostalgia I don't feel like this book works at all.


" My life was an unending, unchanging midnight. It must, by necessity, always be midnight for me. So how was it possible that the sun was rising now, in the middle of my midnight?"



👎 What I Disliked 👎


Writing: As the above quote clearly demonstrates, the writing was so cringeworthy! There were so many strange formulations that just made me want to shed my own skin. And the repetitiveness was none stop! Everything was conspicuous and every emotion was visible in someone's eyes. If you cut out all the repetitions this novel would be significantly shorter.


Length: This was about 300 pages too long. It goes on an on in the same vein all the way through. It didn't need to be this long, because absolutely nothing happened for the first 600 pages.


Edward: I remember really loving Edward when I read the original four books in this series. That drastically changed while reading this book. I've always known he was brooding, but when you read his thoughts go round and round in circles for the better part of 600 pages you really begin to loose respect for him.


Insta-love: I didn't remember the relationship between Bella and Edwards evolving this fast in the original book, but apparently Edward fell in love with Bella after a grand total of five conversations. And these conversations were so non-consequential, too, I literally cannot understand what exactly he fell in love with.


Nothing new: I was expecting to learn something new from this novel, something about what Edward was up to in all the time he spend away from Bella. But honestly, that is such a small part of this book it hardly even counts. The only new thing about Edward that I learned was that I did not like him because he's a clingy, brooding stalker. It wasn't until the very end that I felt this book offered up something new, but by then it hardly even mattered.



bottom of page