top of page

Review: A Vow so Bold and Deadly


I am so disappointed I might cry 😭😭


I really feared this was what was going to happen with this book. I LOVED the first one SO MUCH! I loved Harper, Rhen and Grey. They second book caught me by surprise and didn't fully live up to the first but I was okay with it. But it also made me fear for the conclusion of this series. It made me fear, that the magic of the first book would be completely lost. Sadly, for me at least, that fear came true.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Lia Mara: I was okay with Lia Mara in book two. She wasn't my favourite character, but I sympathised with her quest to be a more benevolent ruler than her mother and to bring peace to her people. But in this book she let me down completely. I couldn't like her because she never 'got into character' so to speak. She didn't step up to the plate. She didn't do what she set out to do because she was too busy second guessing herself and letting others make the tough decisions for her. It didn't sit well with me. I felt like she had such potential to be the greatest character, but Kemmerer let her down. Almost as if Kemmerer didn't really like her either...


Grey: Grey confuses me. He has for a while. I just don't understand his reasoning or his decision making process. It doesn't seem logical to me. I can't follow how he gets there. I simply don't understand him as a character.


Rhen: Now. Rhen is a real problem. I absolutely loved him in the first book. Absolutely hated him in the second. And now, with this book, we are somehow meant to love him again? It feels like a split personality. It doesn't make any sense. And when we here learn why Rhen was so terrible in the second book, it doesn't even come close to making up for his behaviour. I am deeply conflicted by this. I like character development, but there has to be a reason for it and it has to seem plausible. Rhen is not plausible.


Underwhelming: All in all this was just... underwhelming. There was too much talking and not enough walking, so to speak. This was definitely a character driven book, and when I didn't like 3 out of 4 characters it probably isn't so surprising that I am underwhelmed...




bottom of page