top of page

ARC Review: Tempest Cursed


An interesting 'Wuthering Heights' inspired YA Gothic horror novel.


Taking on a classic like Wuthering Heights is quite a feat and in my opinion there's only one way you can do it - by making the story completely your own. If you ask me, Lannon managed this perfectly. She stays within some of the central plot lines, but the rest is all Lannon. And those parts were great! I only had a little trouble with the pace of the plot, but the rest was great.


👍 What I Liked 👍


Wuthering Heights: Wuthering Heights is not one my favourite books, I'll admit that. But it also not a book that I have seen many retellings of, so it was very interesting for me to see how someone would go about reshaping this story. Like I said earlier, I think that Lannon did very well in staying within some of the central plot lines but still making the rest of the story - as well as the universe - her own.


Selkies: I love selkies and merfolk and I really don't feel like they get enough attention especially in YA literature. So seeing them come to life here was very refreshing and nice. Also, I think they added just the right amount of gothic horror to this story, which was very appropriate.


Hake: Our 'Heathcliff' character, Hake, was a great character. I was never a fan of Heathcliff because I didn't really understand him, but Hake was different. Hake has a tough life, so many things are against him - his past and people's perception of him, especially - but he still manages to be a decent person and, perhaps most importantly, he is still capable of love.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Plot and place: As much as I loved the setting, the fantasy and the characters, I was slightly let down by the pace and the plot. It seemed to move very slowly at times and there were unnecessary repetitions that just slowed it all down even more.


Read it if you like: Wuthering Heights, Gothic horror, Selkies and merfolk


⭐⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page