top of page

ARC Review: Caught


Offensive Paranormal Romance with a thoroughly irredeemable 'hero'.


In my opinion, the 'hero' of this book, Quinn, is the sort of man I hope will never be allowed to be romantic heroes... Because there is nothing romantic or heroic about him. I could perhaps have liked this book if Quinn had actually just been a rake and not a would-be-rapist. But that wasn't the case. And I can't forgive or tolerate something like that.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Quinn: At the beginning of this book, Quinn blames the mermaid Lorelei for the sinking of his ship. As retaliation, Quinn plans to rape Lorelei and keep her prisoner on a deserted island forever. Yeah, that doesn't exactly sound like a hero to me. What struck me as most bizarre is that when Quinn is contemplating this rape, he says that he could never harm a woman - here he apparently only talks about hitting a woman, because apparently violent rape is not 'hurting' a woman... How screwed up is that!


Lust: As I see it there is no love in this book. It is all pure lust. Maybe there would have been love if Cale had seen fit to add actual romantic scenes in stead of just smut. But she didn't. I honestly believe that this was a case of Stockholm Syndrome Lust.


Quinn: Yes, Quinn deserves another mention because he revolted me time and time again. Aside from planning to rape Lorelei he also lies and blackmails her into having sex with him, pushing her into a corner where her only option is to let him do with her what he wants. And then he berates her for it too, after they've supposedly fallen in love. I just wanted to vomit at that point.


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page