top of page

Review: The Guinevere Deception




Finally, someone asks "who was King Arthur's Guinevere"?


And oh my, the roads we travel to answer this question! I have been fascinated by the Arthurian legend for many years and have always wondered about the silence surrounding Queen Guinevere. All we're ever really told about her is her affair with Lancelot. But criminally few authors (Marion Zimmer Bradley being one of the few) offer any insight into her character. So I think it was about time that her origin and her story was examined. Especially in such an inventive, original way as this!


👍 What I liked 👍


Spin: The Arthurian legend has been examined numerous times in many different ways, so I was very pleasantly surprised to learn that there were still some new spins to put on this tried and true story.


Arthur: Yes, this is Guinevere's story and Guinevere was a great character in her own right, but I simply adored Arthur. He was everything you would want him to be - just, merciful, fair, brave and benevolent. But there was something more to him. He was also just a lonely boy, who wanted to have fun and who needed a companion to confide in. It made him more well rounded as a character and added another layer of sweetness to the myth.


Mystery: Who is Guinevere? Where did she come from? And what is her purpose? The mystery of her true identity is both intriguing and original and I lapped it up from start to finish. I will definitely be tuning in for the next couple of books to get these answers.


👎 What I disliked 👎


Twists: This book had several twists that I suppose were meant to be surprising. However, there was hardly even one twist that I had not seem coming a mile away. That sort of bummed me out at detracted from the overall enjoyment I had with this book.


⭐⭐⭐⭐

bottom of page