top of page

ARC Review: Who's That Earl


Strong female lead in plot-less, wishy washy historical romance.


When I read Historical Romance I like a bit of heartfelt (maybe even sizzling) romance. I also like a plot that goes beyond the romance and maybe has some drama, mystery or horror. And I like strong female characters who stand up for themselves. With this book I got only one of those things...


👍 What I Liked 👍


Jane: Our female lead Jane is a selfmade woman - she is a published author, writing under a male pseudonym. She writes horror stories that nobody in her day or age would suspect was written by a woman. I really liked that she went against convention and made her own fortune evne when others (particularly her father) said she couldn't.


Secrets: Normally I absolutely hate characters that keep secrets from each other because you always know how it is going to end up - the secret will come out leading to a momentary split or rift which is ultimately overcome in the end. For me the 'secret keeping trope' is so old and tired. So when I first felt this book going down that road I was a little annoyed - but then my feelings changed, because this was actually a new take on that trope. Jane and Thomas actually know that the other person is lying! That was refreshing!


Second chances: Jane and Thomas had a short lived affair seven years before the events of this book. I always enjoy a second chances love story, event though I wish we would have gotten to know more about their earlier romance.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Plot: Overall, the plot was lacking. Based on the blurb I was expecting mystery, intrigue and even a bit of action, but I didn't feel like the book delivered on either account. It was slightly mundane and I was not expecting that one bit.


Romance: Jane and Thomas may be second chance lovers, something that I really like, by I was just not sold on their romance. I couldn't connect with their relationship, couldn't feel the attraction, the emotions or the chemistry.


Read it if you like: selfmade women, secret identities, second chance at love


⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page