top of page

ARC Review: The Devil's Own


Mistaken identities lead to sweet romance.


At the beginning of this book I was sort of on the fence - I liked that the romantic interest was a vicar (which isn't all that usual in Historical Romance, at least as far as I'm aware) but I was not a fan of Mary, the female main character. Soon I was taken over by the story, the evolution of Mary and the ending really had me going.


"Honey catches more vicars than vinegar."


👍 What I Liked 👍


Premise: Devlin and Daniel, the local vicar, are identical twins. One day, during a prank where Devlin dressed up as Daniel to fool some of the parishioners, Devlin breaks his leg. With everyone believing that it was actually Daniel, the vicar, who broke his leg, the two twins decide to switch places until Devlin's leg heals. Honestly, it sounds ridiculous and far fetched but it was quite entertaining. Especially seeing Devlin, who is a bit of a scoundrel, taking over his brother's duties of vicar.


Mary: Like I said, at first I didn't like Mary. She felt very shallow, having firmly decided on marrying the vicar without ever having talked to him. But as she spent more and more time with Devlin (posing as the vicar) I saw her true character - kind, intelligent, tenacious. I really started to like her, care for her and want the best for her.


Ending: It is not often that a Historical Romance novel hits me so deeply that I actually start to tear up, but the ending of this book did it. It tugged at my heart and brought tears to my eyes.


Read it if you like: Identical twins swap places, Christian values, rogue redemption stories


⭐⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page