top of page

ARC Review: Highland Renegade


Historical romance that didn't sizzle but still kept me entertained.


Writing this review is actually kind of hard, because I was neither blown away nor sorely disappointed by this book. It was just fine, no major highs and no major lows. Just fine.


👍 What I Liked 👍


Juliana and Rory: My favourite part of this book was actually not the main characters, Emily and Ian (though I did like Emily). What I enjoyed the most was their siblings, Emily's sister Juliana and Ian's brother Rory. Those two had such a fun chemistry filled with banter. I am looking forward to seeing how that relationship progresses.


Emily: Emily was a nice character. She was determined to make something of herself and to prove that she could do it on her own without a man. She was tenacious and it endeared her to me.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Mary, Queen of Scots: This takes place in the highlands in the late 18th century. Many of the characters are Scotsmen. Yet they still refer to Mary, Queen of Scots as Mary, Queen of Scots! Every time I read that it rankled with me. Now, I can't prove that Scotsmen would not have called her that at this point in time - it is, after all, 200 years after her death. But I just feel like it would be more realistic if they referred to her as Mary I (which she was, in Scotland) or Mary Stuart.


Chemistry: Ian and Emily is the central couple of this story, but I didn't buy their relationship. I didn't feel any chemistry between them. It was just... nice. Nothing more, nothing less.



ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page