top of page

ARC Review: Highland Champion


Neither plot, romance nor characters could save this book...


I was completely underwhelmed by this book. There wasn't really anything to hold my attention and I found my thoughts drifting often.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Pace: It took sooooo long for this book ti actually get going. I think it wasn't until the 3/4 mark that the pace really started to pick up and build towards something. The first 3 quarters were just plain dead. Nothing of any interest or import really happened, and it just felt stalled and slow.


Plot: The plot was thin, to say the least. It dragged out (same as the pace) and went round and round in circles for far too long. It felt as if the same things were happening over and over again, with both Lorelei and Alasdair repeating themselves continuously, spouting the same fears and misgivings about each other. It got boring real fast.


Romance: Honestly, I didn't feel a lick of romance or chemistry between Lorelei and Alasdair. Perhaps because they hardly ever had any scenes together! To top it off, whenever they did have a scene, they were not alone! So there was no chance to actually feel them falling for each other or being attracted to one another. It was a big letdown in a romance novel, not to have to romantic character interact at all.


Characters: And on the subject of characters... I was not impressed. Lorelei and Alasdair, in particular, were sort of drab. Fiona had some spunk, I'll give her that. But when the two main character are weak, the book cannot be carried by a single side character.



bottom of page