top of page

ARC Review: Deception and Desire


There was literally nothing that spoke to me.


Historical romance novels are often hit or miss, but only rarely have I encountered such a BIG miss as this one. There was honestly nothing that appealed to me about this book. The only reason it gets two stars in stead of one is because, bad as it was, it didn't offend me.


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Plot: It's hard to criticize something that's not there but I'll give it my best shot. I found no plot in this book whatsoever. There was no hook, nothing that set it apart from any other Historical Romance novel, nothing that was unique or exciting. It was like one long yawn.


Chemistry: Our two heroes, Fenella and Lachlan, have all the romantic or sexual chemistry og two wet rags lying next to each other on a kitchen counter. I just could not see it or feel it. There were hardy any romantic banter or interactions and suddenly they were in love.


Characters: Neither Fenella nor Lachlan (or any of the smaller characters) stood out to me in any particular way. They felt flat, stiff and lifeless - sort of like cardboard figures. Ask me tomorrow and I wont remember a single one of them.


Ending: Perhaps the ending really just bothered me because once I got to it I was completely over this book. But honestly, it felt contrived and downright laughable - like the sort of ending the author imagined a Historical Romance ought to have even though it didn't fit the mold of this book.


⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page