top of page

ARC Review: Court of Swans


A flat, sad attempt at historical YA.


I've given Dickerson three chances now. I think I have to call it quits. I really wanted to like this. I think the world needs more YA historical fiction. But not like this. I have the same problem with this as with the other Dickerson novels I've read, so honestly, I could just copy my other reviews in here and be done with it...


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Characters: Honestly, there was not a single character that felt like a read person with a fully developed personality. I really don't think that Dickerson ever takes the time to actually think about, what her characters are going to be like. If she does, she doesn't know how to convey that in her writing. Because every single character in this books was like a cardboard cutout of a person - flat and lifeless.


Writing: Half-assed and rushed. Those are the two words that describe Dickerson's writing best in my opinion. No real effort seems to be put into the writing (or the story or the characters) and Dickerson seems to just want to be done with it all before she even gets started.


Plot: I really don't know if I can even say anything about a plot that is not even there. This story was so boring. I skidded over several pages and still managed to follow the story without any interruption. Nothing happens. No twists, no surprises. From the beginning you know exactly how this will unfold.


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page