top of page

ARC Review: A Proper Charade


Joyful, character driven historical romance


This is one of those historical romance books were you just feel happy all the way through. You smile, you laugh and you look forward to the inevitable happy ending.


"You are quite bold for a misbehaving servant on her first day." - Anthony


👍 What I Liked 👍


Anthony: I read a lot of historical fiction and usually it is of the more... erotic kind (don't judge, I have urges). This, however, is not of the steamy variety and that might be part of the explanation as to why I loved Anthony, our hero, so very much. Usually, in the 'adult content' historical fiction, the heroes are always rogues or rakes that are inexplicably ripped despite never working out. Anthony was so much more wholesome and I really loved it. He was serious about finding a wife, he was orderly and contemplative. He enjoyed lists and plans. He was totally different and totally crush worthy!


"I want you to pretend to be a lady." - Anthony



Patience: Patience, our heroine, has such a delightful, sunny disposition she really brightened up this book. I also really enjoyed her tenacity and perseverance - especially in situations where people tell her, she can't do something. I felt like her sunniness and her spontaneity was the perfect fit for Anthony.


The Ugly Duckling: As a Dane, I love any Hans Christian Andersen reference - but I especially loved how his fairy tale The Ugly Duckling was incorporated into this story. I will not go into this much more because I want you discover this gem on your own, but I will say this: some things are overheard and misunderstood and hilarity/adorableness ensues.


"Lady Patience Kendrick seemed to think I was more like a duck" - Anthony



Premise: While quite unrealistic, the premise of this book (Lady Patience pretends to be a servant who pretends to be a lady to help Anthony get engaged to someone else) was very fun and engaging. It is not often that I am able to enjoy an unrealistic premise/plot - this was one of those times.


Read it if you like: Clean historical romance, mistaken identity, friends to lovers


⭐⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page