top of page

ARC Review: A Duke Will Never Do


Great male lead but sadly lacking female lead


When I was first introduced to the Spitfire Society, I was intrigued by the mission, these women had of making their own futures and controlling their own lives. However, I didn't feel like that mission or the Society was given the credit it was due in this book. It fell short of the intended goal, I think. Still, this was not a bad book, it had some great, steamy scenes as well as a great male lead.


"The purpose of the Spitfire Society is to celebrate

womanhood and whatever independence we can claim." - Jane



👍 What I Liked 👍


Anthony: Anthony has been cropping up from time to time throughout this series and whenever she popped up, he was always silly drunk. The mystery of why he felt the need to be drunk at all times got under my skin and in this book I was happy to finally get the answers. I liked seeing another more vulnerable side to Anthony, than what I had seen in previous books. I liked seeing how kind and upright he was. He was a very nice romantic hero.


"I won't marry, and I won't fall in love with you." - Anthony



Spitfire Society: I still very much enjoyed the idea of the Spitfire Society, of these women taking control for themselves. I wanted a lot more of the Spitfire Society!


👎 What I Disliked 👎


Plot: The plot line felt somewhat trivial, I was missing something new and original. It failed to completely draw me in or surprise me in any way. I felt like I had read this story before in other historical romance novels, which saddened me. I wanted something new and fresh, not old and used.


Jane: Our heroine Jane did nothing to please me. I couldn't really feel her as a character at first. She felt bland and flat. But then I started to realise how manipulative she was. She took advantage of Anthony in some dicey situations when he was drunk and even (I think) pressured him to be intimate even when he had said he didn't want to. Once that character trait became obvious to me, I just couldn't like Jane at all. She didn't deserve Anthony.


Read it if you like: Steamy regency romance, indecent proposals, who-saves-who stories


⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

bottom of page