top of page

My 11 Favourite Reading Soundtracks


Music can heighten your reading experience.


At least, that is my experience. Sometimes, you find a piece of music that just goes so well with what you're reading, it is as if the Heavens open up and divine rays hit the pages of your book. Or, you know... it's good.


For me, classical music and especially movie soundtracks create the most beautiful background music while reading.


I have some greatest hits soundtracks, that I return to time and time again when I need to sink completely into the book I'm reading. These are my all-time favourites! For each soundtrack I have included my favourite track - the ones that give me goosebumps and the ones that I feel capture the feeling of the entire soundtrack.


Braveheart by James Horner

Favourite Track: The Secret Wedding


I sometimes say that I wrote my entire master's thesis while listening to the Braveheart soundtrack. It's not that far from the truth. This soundtrack is not only good for reading it is also perfect for writing! It has a perfect blend of romantic ballads and urgent tunes.


Recommended for: medieval history, fantasy, Scottish litterature



Pride and Prejudice by Dario Marionelli

Favourite Track: Liz on Top of the World


If your thing is piano and strings you cannot go wrong with this soundtrack. It is by far one of the most romantic soundtracks in my opinion. There is something light and effortless and yet still so captivating and enthralling that you just get carried away.


Recommended for: romance novels, regency romance, historical romance


Lord of the Rings by Howard Shore

Favourite Track: Concerning Hobbits


Probably the ultimate fantasy soundtrack, the LOTR franchise offers hours of amazing, enchanting music. All the way from humorous and light to dark and oppressing. This will fit pretty much any fantasy book of your choice.


Recommended for: fantasy, horror, fairy tales



Swan Lake by Tchaikovsky

Favourite Track: Finale (andante)


Yes, this is technically not a movie soundtrack (unless you count Barbie in Swan Lake or Black Swan I guess), but the music is still widely used in movies and it makes for the perfect reading soundtrack all the same. The combination between the melancholy strings and the upbeat dance music makes this very versatile.


Recommended for: fairy tales, romance, non-fiction


Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by Harry Gregson-Williams

Favourite Track: Evacuating London


These is so much heart and spirit in this soundtrack. There's grief, laughter, triumph and sorrow. It's playful yet grown up. And it blends the classical instruments with modern notes seamlessly.


Recommended for: fantasy, children's books, epic adventures, coming of age



The Lion King by Hans Zimmer

Favourite Track: The Once and Future King


I set myself a challenge for this list - to only pick one animated Disney movie score. It was a tough challenge, but I always come back to The Lion King. I love that it uses flutes, drums and vocals to heighten the experience at key moments. Definitely gives me goosebumps.


Recommended for: epic adventures, dark fairy tales, villain stories, family sagas


Game of Thrones by Ramin Djawardi

Favourite Track: Victory Does Not Make Us Conquerors


Perhaps the most recognizable and iconic series intro music! But the rest is definitely also worth a listen. Especially if you're into dark, creeping and haunting notes that seep into you like a black sludge. Still, it also has some lighter more folksy notes that give it a nice balance.


Recommended for: fantasy, horror, thrillers, dystopia, mysteries


Twilight by Carter Burwell

Favourite Track: I Dreamt of Edward


Yes, I included Twilight here as well! Say what you will of the book or the film, the music was perfect for both! It has that haunting creepiness that is often associated with vampires. Also, as opposed to the rest of this list it is more heavy in percussions, bass and modern instruments.


Recommended for: YA, urban fantasy



Memoirs of a Geisha by John Williams

Favourite Track: Sayuri's Theme


If you're looking for hauntingly beautiful, slightly melancholy and Japanese influence, this soundtrack would take you there. Williams uses traditional Japanese instruments such as the koto and shakuhachi as well as a heavy cello to bring this exotic story to life.


Recommended for: Japanese fiction, melancholy romance


Gladiator by Hans Zimmer

Favourite Track: Elysium


This is one of the first movies where I can remember actually paying attention to the soundtrack as much as the action on screen. I love the heaviness of the instruments combined with the lightness of the vocals. And I am always struck by the melancholy and the sorrow that this combination produces.


Recommended for: historical fiction, antique history, fantasy


Corpse Bride by Danny Elfman

Favourite Track: Piano Duet


If you ask me, no soundtrack list is complete without Danny Elfman and the first that comes to mind for me is always Corpse Bride. It is Victorian yet modern, sorrowful yet light. And it is piano heavy, which is something I always enjoy. Another Elfman favourite of mine is Edward Scissorhands.


Recommended for: horror, Victorian history, non-fiction

bottom of page