top of page

Books I Look Forward to in May 2020




Spring is here - and so are a lot of new books!


One thing I always look forward to at the beginning of a new month is all the new books, that are going to be released! This month, though different in so many other regards, is no exception!


The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

Release date: May 19

At first, when I heard there was going to be a prequel to Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games series I was absolutely thrilled. Though, I'll admit, when it was revealed that a young president snow would be the 'hero' of the book, I was a lot less thrilled. Still, being the fan of the original series that I am, I will still be giving this book a try.


The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner

Release date: May 26

Yes, I am the biggest (yes, really) Jane Austen fan! I am always searching for that book to give me the same feeling I get when I read Pride and Prejudice or Emma. Sadly, I haven't had the best of luck as of yet. That is the reason for by wanting to read this book - perhaps this one will be the one! I am ever the optimist.


Catherine House by Elizabeth Thomes

Release date: May 12

Honestly, this book is all about the hype for me. I see this cover everywhere - and honestly, yes, I am that kind of reader! I see a book repeatedly, I want to read it. Of course, there are also aspects of this book that appeals to me, such as the gothic setting and the promise of steam.

The Queen's Secret by Karen Harper

Release date: May 19

This is one of those stories that I have longed to hear - the story of WWII from the perspective of the Queen Mother, Elizabeth. She has been a figure that has intrigued me since I watched The Great Speech and I have long wanted to learn more of her. I am hoping that this book will give me an introduction to this fierce woman.

bottom of page