top of page

Author Spot: Explore LGBTQ with Adam Silvera


Yes, his books are just as cute as he is!


Adam Silvera first entered my world in November 2017 and he has become an instant favourite of mine. He writes Young Adult books with a strong LGBTQ voice and he often adds little science fiction twists to his novels. I was particularly drawn to the melancholy I felt present in every book of his. He has a unique, distinct point of view that I have yet to find with any other YA author. For that alone he soars to the top of my favourite authors.


You will like Adam Silvera if you also like...

> Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

> Books about coping with loss

> YA romance with a twist

> LGBTQ characters and themes



More Happy Than Not

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


16-year old Aaron has witnessed a family tragedy and is struggling to find happiness. His girlfriend Genevieve and new best friend Thomas do what they can to support him, but as Thomas and Aaron grow closer, Aaron discovers something that threatens to unravel him completely. Luckily, there is an answer for that - the memory-alteration procedure developed by the Leteo institute.


This is one of those books where you can sense something lurking just below the surface but you can't quite put your finger on it. It makes it an enticing, interesting read - because you just have to know, what is it that I am not seeing?



History Is All You Left Me

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Even though Theo and Griffin had broken up, even though Theo had moved away and fallen in love with Jackson - Griffin knew they were going to get their happy ever after. That is, until Theo died in a tragic drowning accident. Now Griffin is spiraling out of control and, in an ironic twist of fate, Jackson is the only one, who can relate to his pain.


Losing someone you love is a terrible feeling that most of us can relate to. Griffin's pain was raw and all-consuming and I was very drawn to the mystery of why he held on to Theo so tightly even with all they had been through.



They Both Die at the End

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


A little past midnight the two strangers Mateo and Rufus each get a phone call from Death-Cast - they are going to die within 24 hours. Not wanting to be alone, they find each other through the app Last Friend. Together, they vow to live an entire lifetime in one single day.


Some people yell 'spoiler alert' when reading this title, but seriously, don't shy away from this book for that reason! The premise was the enticing part here - how many of us have not asked ourselves the question 'what would I do if I only had 24 hours to live?'. Well, that is the question Mateo and Rufus are now facing the reality of.



What If It's Us

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


When Arthur literally runs into Ben at the post office he knows fate has just sent him a sign. Sure, Arthur is only in New York for the summer and Ben was carrying a box of his exes stuff - fate cannot be denied and neither of them can forget the chance meeting. But what can fate have in store for them when they only have one summer?


This book is co-authored by Becky Albertalli which brings a lightness and humour to the book that is not found in Silvera's other books. However, it suits his style very well and the two of them create magic. Bonus info! A second book has been teased!



Infinity Son

My Rating: TBR


Infinity Son is the newest book of Silvera's authorship and sadly, I have not had the pleasure of reading it - yet! However, it is a read that I am greatly looking forward to, since this marks Silvera's first foray into the realm of fantasy, one of my favourite genres, so I am absolutely itching to get my hands on it soon!


bottom of page